UANI Statement on Temporary Oil Waivers Given to Countries Operating In Iran

United Against Nuclear Iran (UANI) Chairman Senator Joseph I. Lieberman and CEO Ambassador Mark D. Wallace released the following statement today after it was announced which eight countries (China, India, Italy, Greece, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and Turkey) would be receiving temporary oil sanctions waivers in Iran:

The civil nuclear cooperation waivers under the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) provide Iran with a pathway to build a nuclear weapon. As such, this should be the last extension to permit countries operating in Iran the opportunity to wind down their work. Maximum pressure continues to be the most promising avenue for convincing the Iranian regime to change its malign behavior. We believe that maximum pressure must ultimately mean just that—no exceptions, and no exemptions.

To read UANI’s report, What’s Wrong with the Iran Nuclear Deal, please click here.

Read the original statement on the website of UANI

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Add Comment